The Library Commission consists of nine members that serve three-year terms. They are appointed by the Mayor and approved by the Assembly. The role of the Library Commission is to hear public appeals of materials held in the Library collection, advise the Director on Library policies, provide acceptance of artwork and other donations, and represent the public to ensure the Library is reflecting the needs of the community.

The Library Commission meets the third Wednesday of each month, at 4:00 p.m., in the Noel Wien Conference Room.

Library Commission Members

Rex Nutter, Chair

686 Slater Drive
Fairbanks, Alaska 99701
456-1476 (H and F Call First)
Expires: 12/31/20

Nicole Eiseman

3819 Old Nenana Hwy
Ester, AK 99725
479-8225 (H)
Expires: 12/31/20

Maida Buckley

350 Cinnabar Drive
Fairbanks, Alaska 99709
479-2677 (H)
Expires: 12/31/20

Charles Simmons

PO Box 81724
Fairbanks, Alaska 99708
479-0406 (H)
Expires: 12/31/21

Karen Fox

838 6th Avenue
Fairbanks, Alaska 99701
479-2028 (H) • 456-8329 (W)
Expires: 12/31/21

Jeffrey Jacobson

PO Box 57033
North Pole, AK 99705
Expires: 12/31/21

Elyse Guttenberg

PO Box 81622
Fairbanks, AK 99708
Expires: 12/31/21

Robert Hannon, Vice Chair

5340 Anderson Road
Fairbanks, Alaska 99709-4439
474-0071 (H) • 687-9861 (W)
Expires: 12/31/20

Mary Matthews

4108 Billy’s Lane
Fairbanks, Alaska 99701
455-6311 (H) • 347-1454 (W)
Expires: 12/31/21

Non-Voting Members

Melissa Harter

Director of Libraries